Airgroup can be configured in a couple of different ways.
For personal devices that have been registered, Airgroup is disabled by default.
Once enabled, You may grant up to ten other people permission to connect to your device.
Your account always has permission to connect to your own devices if you have enabled Airgroup for them.
Devices installed and managed by IT can be shared by any combination of: location, role (e.g. Active Directory group membership), or based on the time of day.
By default, these devices are shared by location to any authenticated user.