How to forget a Wi-Fi network

Sometimes during troubleshooting of Wi-Fi issues we may ask you to “forget” or “delete” the network you’re connected to in order to start from a clean state.

iOS:

  1. Open the Settings app
  2. Select Wi-Fi
  3. Select the info button next to the network to be forgotten
  4. Select Forget This Network
  5. Select Forget to confirm

Android:

  1. Open the Settings app
  2. Select Network & Internet
  3. Select Wi-Fi
  4. Long Press (hold) on the network to forget
  5. Select Forget Network

OSX:

  1. Select the Wi-Fi symbol along the top menu bar and click on Open Network Preferences at the bottom of the drop down menu.
  2. Click on Wi-Fi in the menu on the left and click Advanced located at the bottom right of the pop-up window.
  3. Select the Wi-Fi network you want to delete, and click the minus sign as indicated in the image below. Click OK.

Windows:

  1. Click the Network icon on the lower right corner of your screen.
  2. Click Network settings.
  3. Click Manage Wi-Fi settings.
  4. Under Manage known networks, click the network you want to delete.
  5. Click Forget. The wireless network profile is deleted.
Was this FAQ helpful?
FAQ details:
Published date: 06/25/2018 4:43PM
Last updated: 07/02/2018 4:03PM (Eric Brown)
Author: Eric Brown
^ Top of Page